MORE IMPORTANT TASKS AHEAD…

REDS' CAP - WOODLAND CAMO

I would love to say that I’m really focused on the 2012 Baseball Season for the Cincinnati Reds, but that would be a lie.  I’m a Soldier and Veteran in the U.S. Army, and I’m just weeks away from an important mission in Afghanistan.  I’ll be busy enough to the point that I doubt I’ll have much opportunities to see more than an inning or two during Breakfast – there’s a better than 9 hour difference between AFG and the U.S.

By the time I return Home, the 2012 Season will be a thing of the past.   By the time I arrive Home, another Presidential Election will have come and gone.  I do wish the Reds well, but I wish my Soldiers – and My Country – a great year, and that includes everyone coming home safe and sound to their loved ones.  Perhaps, in some small way, I can relate a little to those great Servicemen (and women) who fought in Vietnam, as well as our wars in Iraq and Afghanistan.  I say Vietnam more, because of all the historic accomplishments that were made from @ 1966-1972 by ballplayers like Rose, Bench, Morgan, Perez, as well as HOF’ers Aaron, Mays, Seaver, Gibson,  and more – while our Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen, and Marines were focusing more on the daily challenges of their mission; compared to that, baseball is just a game.  I might have the benefits to use computers and Email from time to time, but most of that will be used to stay in touch with my Family – when communicating back Home.  I’ll use most of my imagination – and dreams – to focus on the day when I can Return Home. 

I still enjoy the game of baseball, but the game for me will largely have to wait…until the Real Mission is complete.

With that in mind, Here’s to the Cincinnati Reds…Past and Present – with a Nod from the best of Reds’ Past: The Big Red Machine, and their Famous Starting Eight, to Include The Big Four (Rose, Morgan, Bench, and Perez).

ROSE 3B

GRIFFEY RF

MORGAN 2B

FOSTER LF

PEREZ 1B

BENCH C

CONCEPCION SS

GERONIMO CF

— What a Great Team, and such a Great time to be a Kid, and a Reds’ Fan (1975-76).

God bless you and yours, God bless all the Servicemembers and their Families who have ever served this Great Nation — and may God Always Bless The United States of America. 

1976 REDS - STARTING EIGHT

GOD BLESS THE USA!

Leave a Reply

