GREAT MAY – GO REDS!

“Who would have thought it?”  I’m rather impressed with Votto, Rolen, Phillips, Gomes, Bruce, and most of the entire pitching staff, headed by that young rookie sensation Mike Leake.  Leake is now 4-0, with another quality start while besting tough Cardinals starter Adam Wainwright this past Saturday night. The 22-year-old Leake gave up two earned runs and four hits over six innings with three walks and five strikeouts. MLB.COM notes that Leake is the first Reds pitcher to begin his big league career 4-0 since Santo Alcala and Pat Zachary both did it in 1976 – Now, that’s impressive.

Reds first 40 games of 2010:

W   L   PCT  GB  (Record v. Central Opponents)

23  17  .575    0     16-10

Of course, the Reds are in 1st Place, 1/2 game ahead of LaRussa’s Cardinals.  Let me say this – I’m PROUD of Baker and the Reds thus far. 

This is my first entry of, not only the season, but of all 2010.  Not much to say for that, except I’ve been staying busy with the real world – my job and responsibilities.  Working for the good old USA will shortly put me “Inside the Beltway.”  Well, I can see some Nationals baseball from time to time. 

Gotta run – Great job, Reds – Definitely looks like Cincy Baseball is “Getting back to fun again.”  Even your hustle looks somehow…familiar.  Pete should be proud, and I’m still sore at Charlie Hustle for his very poor judgment in December through now.  Still, the man could play baseball. 

 

 

 

 

Rose Hustling - c.1980 (18NOV09).jpg

 

One comment

  1. juliasrants

    It’s good to have to back John! Your Reds have had a great start to the season! If my Red Sox can get their acts together I would be okay with another Red Sox-Reds World Series! (Okay – I’d be pulling for a different outcome this time!)

    Good luck with the move – the soldiers you will be serving will be bless to have you!

    Julia
    http://werbiefitz.mlblogs.com

Leave a Reply

