WORLD BASEBALL CLASSIC – JUST NOT GETTING IT…


 I cannot understand all the hoopla surrounding the World Baseball Classic.
  I mean, the All-Star Games have been a disappointment for so many years – being a National League fan first make these lackluster games more difficult to accept. 

Consider this: So many players don’t put out much (give 100%) for an All-Star Game.  Last year’s game went well, all considering.  Of course, NL errors, gaffes practically handed what should have been a certain win over the American League…AGAIN. 

Sorry, but I’ve gotten tired of lack of National League’s fighting to win these contests.  I remember the N.L. Squad led by greats such as Willie Mays, Hank Aaron, Pete Rose, Johnny Bench, Mike Schmidt, Steve Garvey, George Foster, Joe Morgan, Tug McGraw, Tony Perez, and so many others.  Note, the N.L. regularly beat A.L. stars such as Rod Carew, Reggie Jackson, Nolan Ryan, Brooks Robinson, Carl Yastremski, Fred Lynn, Mickey Mantle, and many others.  The All-Star Game was pretty important to both leagues and gave bragging rights to the winner every year. 

Commissioner Selig had to add that winner of this contest got to host first World Series games that year.  Okay, but the All-Star Games today still lack the drive and spirit. 

Now, add this World Baseball Classic.  Stars today are worried about injuries during the All-Star Game as it is.  Now, we’re supposed to expect their best for these games?  Just what is the recognition value for this boondogle?  I hardly expect a Rose-Ray Fosse play at the end of one of these events, and I really wouldn’t want the stars to attempt this today.  Still, the 1970 All-Star Game was a classic.  I refuse to discuss the complaining about Mr. Rose playing dirty, or Ray Fosse’s gripes.  Pete Rose played hard and hustled everyday, and that made him a Superstar – he should be a Hall of Famer, but Pete helped fix himself there, sadly.  Mr. Fosse was blocking the plate, and wouldn’t give Mr. Rose adequate room to slide.   

I read where there are several Yankees choosing camp over the classic – I believe this is smart, and the Yanks are putting the fans before these exhibition games.  I hope the Reds feel the same way; I’m more concerned about the first Winning season in Cincy since 2000.  

With all due respect, I could care less about who wins the Classic: As far as I’m concerned, the USA wins every year.  Hey, we’re where MLB was founded, and the reason it thrives. 

As a Christian Father and Husband, my work in the Army keeps me busy enough – Truthfully, I’ll only have time for MLB games every now and then.  The games just don’t mean what they did when I was growing up, but I’ve been over this before.  Still, I hope the Reds end their losing ways this year – makes it more fun to go to their games and  and listen to them on WLW. 

Remember, it’s about “Getting Back To Fun Again.”  That takes W-I-N-N-I-N-G.

 

God bless you all and GOD BLESS AMERICA! 

Rose, Fosse - 1970 ASG (24FEB09).jpg

WHAT A FINISH! 

ROSE-FOSSE – 1970 ALL-STAR GAME @ RIVERFRONT STADIUM, CINCINNATI, OH

 

Leave a comment